An Ode to My Sweetheart

I think we both agree at this point that our relationship sucks.

One night, my crying sounded like a duck.

That our constant bickering weighs us down on our daily lives.

While I refuse to talk to you because you have not apologized.

The lights flicker and I could not sleep.

We’re both lying in bed yet our distance far too deep.

You think I have fooled you yet I see nothing wrong with making my own decisions.

Trying to “correct” me, I am not an illness, I do not need prescription!

When you keep telling me stories and lies, I know in my heart aren’t true.

Yet, I still love you.

 

 

Leave a Reply

